[kissing sound] [music] so, before juan and i started dating, i'vealways wanted a romantic picnic at the park, and last year, for ourthree-year anniversary, he did just that. and i thought this would be a perfect and inexpensive date idea to share with youall. especially for those of you who are on abudget. i know a picnic is self explanatory. we all know how to do a picnic, hopefully.
but i thought i'd share some of mythoughts on a picnic to explain why i chose to share this idea with you. it's something we probably did as a kid onfield trips. but to spend the day at the park with yourvalentine is really so personal and sweet, and i feel like people usuallyoverlook things like that. the process of packing each other'sfavorite food. having a relaxing day out. being able to just talk for hours reallyhelps regain that spark or start that spark in a relationship if itain't there yet.
i know some of you are dealing with asnowstorm right now by the way [laugh]. i'm praying for you. but for those of you who have prettydecent weather, i thought this would be super sweet. as for what i wore to the picnic, we have pretty warm weather here incalifornia, as i'm sure you guys know. so i'm just wearing a oversized knittedsweater. and i also have shorts underneath so no booties were exposed that day and ijust threw on a parka over the top to
keep me a little warm since the sweaterhas pretty large holes on it. and i got this parka from h&m about twoyears ago so if you're looking for something similar i'm sure you can stillfind it at h&m. as for my shoes i don't usually wearbooties to the park that is too darn fancy. and too hard to walk in in the grass. but since i went out after filming this iwore my jeffrey campbell juneau booties, which are actually surprisingly verycomfortable, just don't wear it for over five hours.
lastly i just kept all my things in thislittle mini backpack i got from target. this idea is perfect for my single ladies. holla if you ain't got a boo throw asingle ladies party and celebrate your freedom with your girls. not that you're not free in a relationshipbut you know what i mean. my friends were busy when i was filming this so ihad to improvise and use my stuffed animals for this video. pretend they are my home girls in thisvideo okay. you guys can eat ice cream, cake,
cookies, chips, anything that you guys loveto eat and watch a fun chick flick all in a friend's backyard. my recommendations are white chicks andmean girls. girl those be the movies. those are classics and you can never gowrong. they are hilarious! and if it's not too cold you can even setup a tent and camp outside with your friends for the night, since valentine'sday is on a weekend this year and you won't have school tomorrow. i think valentine's day is a great way tocelebrate the love you have for
your friends and it's a great time to gettogether and have girls night because lets be real howoften do we have those anymore. so to my single ladies embrace beingsingle and have fun with your friends. if you guys do decide to do this be sureto show me your pictures of your set up by using the hash tag #weylie. i know dinner dates can be stressful,especially on valentine's day, just finding the right restaurant, tryingto make a reservation, to paying for that $100 meal. so i thought i'd show you guys my favoritesteak recipe,
even if you're not great at cooking, thisrecipe is so simple, i'm sure you guys will learn howto make it just from watching this video. so, starting with the ingredients of. course you need some steak. steak of your choice. and i'm gonna use my favorite seasoning. you can get this from safeway. so first you're gonna start by rinsing thesteak in some water to make sure it's nice and clean.
and then you're going to take theseasoning and sprinkle it all over your steak. make sure you cover it on both sides. and just let it marinate for about 30minutes. while your steak is marinating go aheadand start. prepping your vegetables, i am making amushroom onion sauce, so that's why i'm cutting up some mushrooms. if you don't like mushrooms, you can goahead and skip this part. and it's not an onion mushroom saucewithout the onion, so
i'm cutting up this onion as well. for the side of veggies i am going to bemaking broccoli. i love broccoli, i know a lot of peoplehate broccoli, i don't know why, why do you hate broccoli? leave it in the comments down below. but i personally love broccoli. now that the vegetables are all prepped,i'm gonna start by cooking my steak. i drizzled some oil onto my. my pan and i just put some of my onions inthere.
to just sweat them a little bit, sweat it,sweat it. and now, i'm gonna put my steak in there. you can just lay it down, lay it down. and, just let it cook for a little bit. make sure you lower the fire so that it'snot super duper hot. and i like to flip them every minute ortwo. because i wanna make sure that both sidesget cooked evenly. as for the broccoli, i'm just going tosteam them today, nothing very special. i'm just tossing it into my littlesteamer, and letting it steam for
about five minutes. i didn't time it, i think it was fiveminutes. [music]and now i'm making my onion mushroom sauce. i'm just sauteing in a pan with some oil. and after that, i just added a little bitof salt and pepper to taste. once the mushroom and onions are added. good state. i'm gonna start making my sauce here.
i'm taking a little bit of corn starch. i love to eyeball things, as you guys knowi don't really have exact measurements. but ya, i just added some water into thatmixture. stir it up and i'm going to pour it slowlyinto the pan. this way it helps thicken up the sauce,and it will look like a nice, pretty gravy. and ba-bam! you are done. wasn't that super, super simple?
i told you, girl. i told you it was gonna be simple. so here i am just plating everything. you can make it look nice, if you didn'twant to do all that you don't have to, but yeah, here is the final result of thefood. i thought it looked great, taste great,and it's really super simple, and it took about an hour. so hope you guys try out this recipe. if you do, be sure to show me picturesusing the hashtag #weylie.
once again, and i hope you all have avery, very, happy valentine's day. and remember, it does not have to beexpensive. as long as you guys are spending timetogether, that should already be the best gift. to be honest i think valentine's day'skinda overrated because we should be showing love to our partner everysingle day. and before you guys go, be sure to checkout my other videos. if you still don't know what to wear forvalentine's day, check out my lookbook. i have it linked on the left.
just click that box. and if you want to check out my vlogs,just click the box to the right. thank you guys so much for watching again,and happy valentine's day. bye, bye girl, bye!
Comments
Post a Comment